Board of Trustees


Glades Day School is governed as a 501(c) (3) not-for-profit corporation according to the corporation’s bylaws.  As such, the school’s mission and governance are entrusted to the nine members of the Board of Trustees.  The Board has one employee, the Head of School, to whom it entrusts the operation of the school.     


Standing committees of the Board of Trustees assume such duties as are specified in the Bylaws and such other duties as may be assigned by the Board of Trustees. The following committees have been formed by the Board to better serve the school.

Executive Committee: This committee is composed of the officers of the Board: The Chair, Vice-Chair, Treasurer, and the Secretary.  The Executive Committee has the authority to act on behalf of the full Board in all matters, if the need should arise.  In those cases, all decisions made by the Executive Committee must be ratified by the full Board at its next meeting.  The Executive Committee manages the Head of School’s employment agreement and annual evaluation process.

Finance Committee: The Finance Committee works closely with the Head of School, the Operations Administrator, and the Director of Finance to develop and review the annual and long-term range budgets of the school.   It approves the monthly financial statements, non-budgeted financial matters, and makes recommendations to the full Board regarding enrollment projections, tuition levels, and the annual budget.

AG/FFA Committee: The AG/FFA Committee is composed of several Board members and other community members gather to formulate strategies and initiatives for the new program that was added during the 2012-2013 school year.  This committee assists with the establishing partnerships with area farmers, businesses, and community members to help build the scope and sequence of the program.

Building and Grounds Committee: The Building and Grounds Committee is the most recent committee formed by the Board of Trustees.  This committee is served by several Board members, school Administration and community members.  The committee was formed as a result of a strategic planning meeting and capital campaign for the roof project in 2012.